Stuff – The Black Caps will begin their 2019 Cricket World Cup campaign against Sri Lanka in Cardiff.


  • For the 2019 World Cup, which has decreased in size from 14 teams to 10, the International Cricket Council has reverted to a round-robin format it last used at the 1992 tournament in Australia and New Zealand.
  • The draw on Thursday (Friday NZ time) also pitched tournament host England against South Africa in the opening match of the 46-day tournament at The Oval on May 30.
  • The Black Caps conclude the round-robin play with tough matches against Australia and hosts England.
  • Politics has kept India and Pakistan, both former Cricket World Cup champions, from meeting in series, but they have met four times in limited-overs matches since the last World Cup.
  • June 1 – Black Caps v Sri Lanka at Sophia Gardens, Cardiff    June 5 (D/N) – Black Caps v Bangladesh at The Oval, London June 8 (D/N) – Black Caps v Afghanistan at County Ground, Taunton June 13 – Black Caps v India at Trent Bridge, Nottingham     June 19 – Black Caps v South Africa at Edgbaston, Birmingham June 22 (D/N) – Black Caps v West Indies at Old Trafford, Manchester June 26 – Black Caps v Pakistan at Edgbaston, Birmingham June 29 (D/N) – Black Caps v Australia at Lord’s, London July 3 – Black Caps v England at Riverside Ground, Chester-le-Street

Read more…