Deccan Chronicle – Gros-Islet: Sri Lanka captain Dinesh Chandimal will miss his side’s third Test against the West Indies after being found guilty of ball tampering by the International Cricket Council on Tuesday.

Summary

  • Gros-Islet: Sri Lanka captain Dinesh Chandimal will miss his side’s third Test against the West Indies after being found guilty of ball tampering by the International Cricket Council on Tuesday.
  • Chandimal was found guilty of changing the condition of the ball during the second day’s play of the second Test, which concluded at Gros Islet on Monday.
  • “It is clear that Dinesh Chandimal applied an artificial substance to the ball, namely saliva containing the residue of something he had in his mouth, an action which is prohibited under the ICC Code of Conduct,” said match referee Javagal Srinath after the judgement.
  • After sucking or chewing whatever he put in his mouth for a few seconds Dinesh then proceeded to spit on his finger and polish the ball with his saliva which would have contained the residue of the artificial substance that he had in his mouth, on two separate occasions.
  • There were concerns that the Test match was in jeopardy on the third morning on Saturday when Chandimal refused to lead his team onto the field for the continuation of the Windies first innings after he was informed of the charge by the umpires and the application of a five-run penalty.


Read more…